2010 Growing Green Awards

The Natural Resources Defense Council aims to recognize leaders in green farming and food production.

by Dani Yokhna
Growing Green Awards- 2010

If you know a leader of a farm, business or organization that is green-centric, consider nominating them for a 2010 Growing Green Award, sponsored by the Natural Resources Defense Council. In the second year of the awards, NRDC wants to recognize leaders in sustainability who have made advancements in ecologically integrated farming practices, climate stewardship, water stewardship, farmland preservation and social responsibility from farm to fork.

Awards will be given in four categories:

  • Food Producer: farmers or other food producers who employ innovative techniques to sustain agriculture, the natural environment, workers and community
  • Business Leader: entrepreneurs who effectively use the marketplace to promote sustainable food systems, develop infrastructure that enables sustainable production, or advance sustainable innovations anywhere on the supply chain from farm to fork
  • Thought Leader: visionaries who advance sustainability as it relates to food through creative research, public education and outreach
  • Water Steward: farmers or other food producers who have made extraordinary contributions in demonstrating water efficiency, sustainable water use and the protection of water quality

    The nominees will be judged by a panel of sustainable food leaders. The judges are Susan Clark, executive director of the Columbia Foundation; A.G. Kawamura, secretary of the California Department of Food and Agriculture; Michael Pollan, author of The Botany of Desire and other books on food, agriculture and the environment; and Nora Pouillon, the chef and founder of Restaurant Nora, the first certified-organic restaurant in the U.S.

    Upon making their selections the judges will consider the nominee’s innovation in promoting ecologically integrated food systems; potential to achieve wide-scale adoption, implementation or behavior change; and advancement of health, safety and economic viability for farmers, farm workers and rural communities.

    The winner in the Food Producer category will receive a $10,000 prize and all winners will be promoted by NRDC to the media and its networks.

    Nominations for the 2010 Growing Green Awards must be submitted to the NRDC by Dec. 4, 2009. Click here to make your nomination.

  • Subscribe now

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    CAPTCHA Image